Holizen

Summer and ayurveda

Stay cool this summer

Summer and ayurveda

As you switch to flip flops and outdoor weather, it is a best time to enjoy fresh fruits and vegetable to prevent skin sensitivities, occasional digestive issues and mineral deficiencies. Below are favorite summer tips:

According to Ayurveda hot days of summer from June to September is a Pitta season. Pitta dosha is a one of the three psycho-physiological elements that govern the different activities of mind and body. Composed of fire and water, Pitta dosha governs metabolism and transformation in the body, including digestion. Signs of an aggravated Pitta include excess stomach acid, heartburn, skin eruptions and irritability.

5 Top Cool tips from Sewanti


1. Diet
Following a Pitta-pacifying diet can help keep this fiery element in balance. Eat more of the sweet, bitter and astringent tastes, and less of the sour, salty and pungent tastes. Sweet juicy fruits like melons, pears and grapes, vegetables like broccoli, cucumber and zucchini, dairy products like milk and ghee, grains like rice are all excellent choices. Avoid sour foods like sour cream, vinegar and ketchup and pungent dishes. Cook with cooling spices and herbs such as mint, fennel, anise and cardamom. Hydrate your body by drinking room temperature or warm spice waters, coconut water, sweet rose Lassi or salty cumin Lassi. Stay away from ice cold beverages.

2. Lifestyle
Protect from summer heat and balance work with leisure. Avoid long commutes and deadlines at work. If possible plan a vacation for the summer or enjoy fun activities on weekends and take time to enjoy life, your garden or neighborhood parks and walking trails. Enjoy outdoors with friends and family.

3. Keep Cool Outdoors
Swimming is wonderful for soothing Pitta dosha. Other water-based sports are also good choices. Leisurely evening strolls are relaxing for both mind and body. An occasional moonlight walk is especially soothing for Pitta-ruffled emotions.

4. Herbs
Pump up digestion with Triphala plus In summer, toxins can build up in the liver. This can manifest in a number of ways, from emotional irritability, to sensitive skin that over-reacts to the sun, insects or heat. Triphala plus is formulated to balance and strengthen the liver while gently removing toxins. Keeping the elimination system running smoothly is especially important in the summer months, when constipation can result due to heat build-up in the tissues.

Improve your complexion by adding Amla powder to your beverages.

Also available, organic Triphala

5. Massage with Cooling Pitta Oil
Self-massage with cooling Pitta oil will not only cool your skin but purify it as well. Padmashri cooling Pitta oil is prepared with pitta reducing herbs such as white sandalwood, amla, shatavari and Indian lotus in a base of cold pressed sesame oil to cool relax and pacify the body, alleviating the symptoms of Pitta dosha including heat irritation and inflammation.

Neelam Toprani is an Ayurvedic researcher and the formulator of Sewanti herbal remedies and Padmashri massage oils. Neelam has been studying various healing modalities and eastern spiritualties from many masters.

One of the objectives her Company is to take the timeless wisdom of Ayurveda and translate it into practical solutions to improve the quality of life.The company is based in Vancouver, Canada.

Holizen

Ayurvéda & santé estivale

5 astuces pour cet été

En ayurvéda, les journées chaudes de l’été, c’est-à-dire de juin à septembre, sont une saison Pitta. Le dosha Pitta est l’un des trois éléments psychophysiologiques qui régissent le métabolisme et les transformations dans le corps, incluant la digestion.

Les signes d’un Pitta aggravé comprennent l’excès d’acides gastriques, les brulures d’estomac, les éruptions cutanées et l’irritabilité.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous nos conseils favoris pour l’été :

5 astuces pour cet été

1. Alimentation pacifiante Pitta
Une alimentation apaisante pour le dosha Pitta pourrait aider à maintenir l’équilibre de cet élément feu. Mangez plus d’aliments sucrés, amers et astringents, et moins d’aliments aigres, salés et piquants. Les fruits juteux et sucrés comme les melons, les poires et les raisins, les légumes comme le brocoli, le concombre et le zucchini, les produits laitiers comme le lait et le ghee, et les céréales comme le riz sont d’excellents choix. Évitez les aliments aigres tels que la crème sûre, le vinaigre et le ketchup ainsi que les plats piquants. Cuisinez avec des épices apaisantes et des herbes comme la menthe, le fenouil, l’anis et la cardamome. Gardez votre corps hydraté en buvant des tisanes chaudes ou à température ambiante, de l’eau coco, du Lassi sucré à la rose ou salé au cumin. Évitez les boissons glacées.

2. Mode de vie
Protégez-vous de la chaleur estivale et trouvez un équilibre entre travail et loisirs. Évitez les longs trajets et les délais au travail. Si possible, planifiez des vacances cet été ou profitez d’activités amusantes pendant les fins de semaine et prenez le temps de profiter de la vie, de votre jardin et des parcs et des sentiers de promenades de votre quartier. Profitez de l’extérieur avec vos amis et votre famille.

3. Exercice calmant
La baignade est formidable pour apaiser le dosha Pitta. Les autres sports nautiques sont aussi de bons choix. Les promenades en soirée sont relaxantes pour le corps et l’esprit. Occasionnellement, une marche au clair de lune peut être apaisante pour les émotions agitées du Pitta.

4. Massage avec l’huile calmante Pitta
L’automassage aide non seulement à apaiser votre peau, mais aussi à la purifier. L’huile apaisante Pitta de Padmashri est préparée avec des herbes qui aident à réduire l’excès Pitta, tel que le bois de santal, l’amla, le shatavari et le lotus indien dans une base d’huile de sésame pressée à froid pour calmer, relaxer et apaiser le corps et atténuer les symptômes du dosha Pitta, incluant l’irritation et l’inflammation.

5. Plantes & Herbes
Accélérez votre digestion avec Triphala Plus. Pendant l’été, les toxines peuvent s’accumuler dans le foie. Cela peut se manifester de plusieurs manières, allant de l’irritabilité émotionnelle à la peau sensible qui réagit excessivement au soleil, aux insectes et à la chaleur. Triphala Plus est formulé pour balancer et renforcer le foie en éliminant doucement les toxines du corps. Il est particulièrement important de s’assurer que le système d’élimination fonctionne bien pendant l’été, puisque la constipation peut être causée par une accumulation de chaleur dans les tissus.

Améliorez votre teint en ajoutant de la poudre d’Amla à vos boissons.

À lire aussi sur le même thème
Été & Ayuvéda, vers l’équilibre Pitta

Neelam Toprani est la fondatrice, présidente et créatrice de la gamme de produits ayurvédiques Sewanti. La compagnie est située à Vancouver. Par ses nombreux voyages en Inde, cours et ateliers, Neelam a entrepris de faire connaître l’Ayurvéda en Amérique du Nord. Au sein de son équipe, on retrouve des médecins ayurvédiques d’expérience et des chercheurs professionnels.

Ces renseignements sur nos produits et leurs composantes le sont à titre d’informations générales seulement et leur préparation a été faite au meilleur de nos connaissances. Il ne prétend d’aucune façon suggérer un diagnostic ou un traitement.