Holizen

Guidelines for balancing Pitta

General guidelines

Guidelines for balancing Pitta

Pitta relates to the properties of heat in the body, represented by the archetypal qualities of the Sun. The nature of Pitta is hot, light, ascending and fast, and therefore herbs, foods, beverages and lifestyle habits used to pacify Pitta should be opposite in nature, i.e. cooling, heavy, descending, and relaxing.

Foods to Avoid
Fruits - in excess: citrus fruits (e.g. oranges, pineapple), papaya, strawberries, peaches, apricots
Vegetables - raw onions and garlic, chilies, tomatoes, eggplant, radish, watercress
Carbohydrates - flour products
Legumes - lentils, peanut
Nuts and Seeds - all nuts, with the exception of those listed below
Dairy - ice cream, cheese, yoghurt, sour cream
Meat - beef, pork
Oils - margarine, lard, corn, canola, peanut, sesame, almond
Spices and condiments - warming spices: chilies, black pepper, mustard, horseradish, ginger, cloves and cinnamon; vinegar, chili sauce, ketchup, marmalade
Beverages - ice water, coffee, alcohol
Sweeteners - white sugar, molasses, old honey

Foods to Emphasize
Fruits - local fruits, eaten freely when in season, e.g. raspberry, blueberries, plums, pears, apricot, melon, grapes, apples
Vegetables - raw and steamed vegetables, including fresh corn, squash, broccoli, brussel sprouts, mushrooms, asparagus, cucumber, lettuce, green beans, peas, cauliflower, cilantro, sprouts, celery, sea vegetables
Carbohydrates - oats, basmati rice, jasmine rice, brown rice, quinoa, amaranth, barley, khus khus, whole wheat pasta, whole wheat chapati or tortilla, whole wheat bread, granola, millet
Legumes - all legumes, with the exception of peanut and lentils
Nuts and Seeds - sunflower seeds, coconut
Dairy - cottage cheese, buttermilk
Meat - free range poultry, free range eggs, cold water fish (salmon, halibut)
Oils - emphasize flax, hemp, ghee, butter, coconut, and sunflower oils
Spices and condiments - cooling or neutral spices: turmeric, mint, cumin, coriander, fennel, cilantro, cardamon; saindhava (rock salt) is particularly useful when used as a condiment
Beverages - at least 2 liters of cool spring water daily, kukicha (twig) tea, any herbal tea except those made with spices like cinnamon and ginger, fresh vegetable and fruit juices, soy milk, rice milk
Sweeteners - in modest amounts: jaggery (goor), maple syrup, treacle, fresh honey

Lifestyle habits
As the nature of Pitta is hot, light and sharp it is important to emphasize patterns which evoke an ability to introspect, develop self-restraint and be compassionate. In particular, when Pitta is aggravated there is a tendency towards aggression, anger, sarcasm and arrogance. Exercise can be very useful to get rid of these emotions, but is best tempered with a routine with a strong aspect of mental discipline, such as the martial arts, or even better, Tai Chi and Chi Gong. Home and office space should be a well-ventilated, cool and quiet. Floral patterns in cooling colours are useful decorative patterns, as are fresh cut flowers placed in vases. Being close to water is important, as is bathing in moonlight, walking through flower gardens and spending time in the company of women.

Lifestyle habits to avoid

  • Excessive expression of anger, sarcasm and criticism
  • Excessively competitive relationships
  • Excessive physical activity in warm weather
  • Exposure to the hot sun

Aromatherapy
Oils for Pitta should generally be cooling, soothing and clearing in nature. Floral fragrances are particularly useful for Pitta. Examples include chamomile, lavender, rose, gardenia, honeysuckle, ylang, vetivert, jasmine and sandalwood.

Colours
Colours that have a cooling energy such as white, blue or green are useful. Overtly bright colours should be avoided, as should many in the red to yellow spectrum as they are too heating or aggravating to Pitta. Black should be avoided, buy grays and browns are neutral.

Yoga postures
Calming and relaxing asanas, mostly lying (mritasana, “the corpse”) or sitting (svastikasana, “fortunate posture), but also inverted postures (e.g. viparitakaranimudra, “shoulder stand”) to preserve the “lunar essence.” Lunar pranayama (emphasizing the dominance of the left nostril) is appropriate, as is chanting such cooling and clearing mantras such as Om, Sham, Som, Shum or Shim.

Meditation
The goal of meditation to pacify Pitta is to increase and balance the lunar qualities of the psyche, such as introspection, intuition and compassion, with those of the more solar aspects of extroversion, logic and will. Techniques should be chosen for their directness and simplicity, rather than elaborate ritual or dogma. The most effective approaches include Zen, Vedanta and Vipassana meditation, coupled with compassion for all living beings.

Neelam’s brings her knowledge of rich grooming tradition from India and energetic aspects of various healing modalities in her teaching. Neelam Toprani is an Ayurvedic researcher and the formulator of Sewanti herbal remedies and Padmashri massage oils.

All the information on our products and their components is for general information only and was made with the best of our knowldege. It does not claim in any way of suggesting a diagnosis or a treatment.

Holizen

Été & Ayurvdéa

Vers l'équilibre Pitta

L’été est à nos portes ! Les jours sont plus clairs, plus longs, plus lumineux, plus chaud, l’Ayurvéda comme science de vie et de longévité accorde une grande importance aux changements de saison qui influent sur le corps humain.

Source de plus de feu; en Ayurvéda, l’été est une saison PITTA.

Général
Pitta étant en lien avec la chaleur du corps, il représente les archétypes du soleil. Les personnes pitta ont du caractère. Ce sont des personnes passionnées, vigoureuses, compétitives, elles adorent les défis et ce sont des leaders naturels. Que pitta soit notre dosha de base ou non, nous pouvons tous souffrir d’un déséquilibre de ce dosha. Lorsque pitta est en excès, il y a inflammation, brûlement, éruptions cutanés, infection, acidité, irritabilité, colère, soif ou appétit excessif.

Comme la nature de Pitta est chaude, lumière et rapide, le choix des plantes, des aromates, des habitudes de vie, des boissons pour pacifier et apaiser Pitta devraient en être l’opposé. Optez pour des repas plus légers et digestes, moins lourds, ni trop chauds ni trop froids. Privilégier les crudités, manger moins, mais de façon plus fréquente. Les saveurs qui augmentent Pitta sont le piquant, le salé, l’acide et les corps gras. Celles qui diminuent Pitta sont le doux, sucré, amer, l’astringent, frais ou chaud mais pas bouillant.

Aliments à éviter
Fruits – en excès: agrumes (orange, ananas..), papaye, fraise, pêche, abricot
Légumes – ail et oignon cru, piment chili, tomate, aubergine, radis, cresson
Glucides – produits de farine
Légumineuses – lentille, arachide
Graines & noix – toutes les noix, sauf celles listées plus bas
Produits laitiers – crème glacée, fromage, yogourt, crème sure
Viandes – boeuf, porc
Huiles – margarine, lard, maïs, canola, peanut, sésame, amande
Aromates & condiments – épices réchauffantes: chili, poivre noir, moutarde, raifort, gingembre, clou et cannelle; vinaigre, sauce chili, ketchup, marmelade
Breuvages – eau glacée, café, alcool
Produits sucrants – sucre blanc, mélasse, miel

Aliments à privilégier
Fruits – locaux, consommés librement en saison (framboise, bleuet, prune, poire, abricot, melon, raisin, pomme)
Légumes – cru ou vapeur, incluant le maïs frais, courge, brocoli, chou de Bruxelles, champignon, asperge, concombre, laitue, fève verte, pois, chou-fleur, coriandre, luzerne, céleri, légumes de mer
Glucides – avoine, riz (basmati, jasmin, brun) quinoa, amarante, orge, khus khus, pâte de blé, pain, chapati ou tortilla de blé entier, granola, millet
Légumineuses – toutes sauf les arachides et les lentilles
Graines & noix –graines de tournesol, noix de coco
Produits laitiers – fromage cottage, babeurre
Viandes – biologique ou élevée en liberté; volaille, oeufs, poisson d’eau froide (saumon, flétan)
Huiles – privilégier; lin, chanvre, ghee, beurre, coconut et tournesol
Aromates & condiments – épices neutres ou fraiches: curcuma, menthe, cumin, coriandre, fenouil, cardamome; saindhava (roche de sel) est particulièrement utile lorsqu’utilisée en condiment
Breuvages – au moins 2 litres d’eau de source fraîche chaque jour, thé kukicha (twig), tous les thés et tisanes sauf ceux fait d’épices (cannelle, gingembre frais), jus de fruit ou de légumes frais, lait de soja, lait de riz
Produits sucrants – petite quantité: sucre de canne roux, sirop d’érable, miel.

Habitude de vie
Comme la nature de Pitta est chaude, légère et forte, il est important de mettre l’accent sur sa capacité de faire de l’introspection, de développer la maîtrise de soi et faire preuve de compassion. En particulier, lorsque Pitta est aggravée il y a une tendance à l’agressivité, la colère, le sarcasme et l’arrogance. L’exercice peut être très utile pour se débarrasser de ces émotions, mais Pitta est mieux tempéré par une routine avec un aspect important de la discipline mentale, comme les arts martiaux, ou mieux encore, le Tai Chi et Yoga Chi Gong. L’espace maison et bureau devrait être bien aéré, frais et calme. Les motifs floraux de couleurs rafraichissantes et les fleurs coupées fraîches placées dans des vases sont utiles. Être proche de l’eau est important, tout comme la baignade au clair de lune, marcher en jardins fleuris et passer du temps en compagnie de femmes.

Habitude de vie- À éviter
• Les excès de colère, le sarcasme et la critique
• Les relations compétitives
• L’activité physique excessive par temps chaud
• L’exposition à la chaleur du soleil

Aromathérapie
Les huiles bénéfiques pour Pitta sont généralement rafraîchissantes et apaisantes. Les odeurs florales sont de bons choix; camomille, lavande, rose, gardénia, chèvrefeuille, ylang, vétivier, jasmin et bois de santal.

Posture de Yoga
Privilégier les asanas (postures immobiles) calmes et relaxantes, en particulier les poses coucher (comme ‘le repos’), ou assis (comme svastikasana, ‘posture du tailleur’) mais aussi les positions inversés (comme viparitakaranimudra, ‘la chandelle’) afin de préserver « l’essence lunaire ». Pranayama lunaire (mettant l’accent sur la prédominance de la narine gauche) est appropriée pour réciter des mantras apaisants et libérants comme Om, Sham, Som, Shum or Shim.

Méditation
Pacifier Pitta par la méditation permet d’augmenter et d’équilibrer les qualités lunaires de la psyché, comme l’introspection, l’intuition et la compassion, avec ceux d’aspects plus solaires (extraversion, logique et volonté). La méthode choisie devrait être franchise et simplicité, plutôt que rituelle et dogme. Les plus efficaces comprennent la méditation Zen, Vedanta et Vipassana, couplée avec la compassion envers tous les êtres vivants.


Neelam Toprani est la fondatrice, présidente et créatrice de la gamme de produits Ayurvédiques Sewanti, située à Vancouver. Par ses nombreux voyages en Inde, cours et ateliers, elle a entrepris de faire connaître l’Ayurvéda en Amérique du Nord. Au sein de son équipe, on retrouve des médecins ayurvédiques d’expérience et des chercheurs professionnels.

Ces renseignements sur nos produits et leurs composantes le sont à titre d’informations générales seulement et leur préparation a été faite au meilleur de nos connaissances. Il ne prétend d’aucune façon suggérer un diagnostic ou un traitement.