Holizen

Balancing Kapha

Ayurveda & Spring

Balancing Kapha

The nature of Kapha is cold, heavy, smooth, moist and dull and therefore herbs, foods, beverages and lifestyle habits used to pacify Kapha should be opposite in nature, i.e. warming, light, rough, dry and sharp.

Foods to Avoid

  • Fruits – most fruits are generally avoided because of their excessive water content and cooling nature, with the exception of those listed below
  • Vegetables – other than raw vegetables, none are contraindicated for Kapha conditions, with the exception of raw cucumber, avocado and mushrooms.
  • Carbohydrates – all refined grains, including cereals, white rice, bread and pasta, but also heavy and moistening grains such as wheat and oats
  • Legumes – none
  • Nuts and Seeds – all nuts, with the exception of those listed below
  • Dairy all dairy, with the exception of those listed below
  • Meat – all meat, with the exception of those listed below
  • Oils – all oil, with the exception of those listed below
  • Spices – none, with the exception of salt
  • Beverages – excessive water, cold water, ice water, rice milk
  • Sweeteners – white sugar, molasses, raw sugar, jaggery, maple syrup

Foods to Emphasize

  • Fruits – apples, cranberry, pomegranate, grapefruit, lemon, lime, papaya, pineapple
  • Vegetables – all vegetables, eaten steamed or baked (but never raw) are good, except those listed above
  • Carbohydrates – long grain brown rice, quinoa, amaranth, granola, millet, buckwheat, barley, corn, popped grains
  • Legumes – all legumes, with the exception of peanut and lentils
  • Nuts and Seeds – flax, sunflower, pumpkin
  • Dairy – small amounts of organic goat milk are okay every so often
  • Meat – best avoided, but occasionally organic or free-range breast of chicken or turkey
  • Oils – best avoided, with the exception of mustard, sunflower, safflower, corn
  • Spices – all spices are good, except salt
  • Beverages – warm water squeezed with lemon or lime, any herbal tea, green tea, coffee (occasionally)
  • Sweeteners – aged unpasteurised honey is helpful to alleviate congestion

Lifestyle habits
As the nature of Kapha is cold, heavy and dull it is important to emphasize patterns that are active, energetic and challenging. In particular, when Kapha is aggravated there is a tendency towards laziness, lethargy, despondency and depression. Active forms of activity, such as aerobics, are strongly encouraged to break up the stagnation of Kapha. Work and pleasure should be stimulating and varied, with much travel and excitement. Home and office space should be a well ventilated, mild in temperature, dry, active, dynamic and Spartan. Exposure to warm sunlight and warm breezes should be encouraged.

Lifestyle habits to avoid

  • Inactivity, laziness
  • Sleeping more than six hours a night, sleeping until late in the morning
  • Exposure to cold and damp

Aromatherapy
Oils for Kapha should generally be warming, stimulating and clearing in nature. Balsamic, pungent and musky odors are best for Kapha. Examples include cedar, pine, rosemary, basil, frankincense, myrrh, eucalyptus, cajeput, camphor, ginger and clove.

Colours
Colours which have a warming energy such as yellow, orange, gold or red are useful for Kapha, as is brown, grey and black in moderation.

Yoga postures
Stimulating and invigorating asanas, mostly standing and moving postures (suryanamaskar, “sun salutation”) but also inverted postures (e.g. shirshasana, “head stand”). Solar pranayama (emphasizing the dominance of the right nostril) is appropriate as is bhastrika (“breath of fire”). Chanting such warming and stimulating mantras such as Aim, Hreem, Hum or Om are all useful.

Meditation
The goal of meditation to pacify Kapha is to increase and balance the solar qualities of the psyche, such as extroversion, independence and will, with those of the more lunar aspects of introversion, dependence and mutability. Techniques should be chosen for their energetic and active qualities, rather than techniques that involve extended periods of sitting and stillness. The most effective approach is typified by Bhakti and Karma yoga, which encourages active forms of worship and humanitarian service.

Neelam Toprani is an Ayurvedic researcher and the formulator of Sewanti herbal remedies and Padmashri massage oils. Neelam has been studying various healing modalities and eastern spiritualties from many masters. One of the objectives her Company is to take the timeless wisdom of Ayurveda and translate it into practical solutions to improve the quality of life.The company is based in Vancouver, Canada.

Holizen

Vers l’équilibre Kapha

Printemps & Ayurvéda

Le dosha Kapha a tendance à augmenter durant la saison Kapha qui représente la fin de l’hiver, le début du printemps jusqu’à juin. Un excès de ce Dosha peut être expérimenté par tout le monde durant cette période, en particulier par les personnes de type Kapha, Pitta-Kapha ou Vata-Kapha.

Général
La nature de Kapha est froide, stable, lente, douce, onctueuse. Les aliments, herbes, boissons et habitudes de vie utilisées pour le pacifier devraient donc être opposées en nature, c’est-à-dire légère, mobile, chaude, rapide, rugueuse, sèche, fluide.

Alimentation
Réduire les portions, favoriser des plats légers, faibles en gras et en calories, servis préférablement chauds. Évitez les aliments sucrés et salés. Misez plutôt sur les saveurs piquantes, amères et astringentes.

Aliments à éviter

  • Fruits – La plupart des fruits sauf ceux énumérés ci-dessous
  • Légumes – Tous les légumes crus sauf le concombre cru, avocat et champignon.
  • Glucides – Tous les grains raffinés, incluant : céréales, riz blanc, pain et pâtes, maïs aussi le blé et l’avoine
  • Légumineuses – Aucune
  • Noix et graines – Tous à l’exception de ceux énumérés ci-dessous
  • Produits laitiers – Tous les produits laitiers, à l’exception de ceux énumérés ci-dessous
  • Viande – Toutes les viandes, à l’exception de ceux énumérés ci-dessous
  • Huiles – Tous, à l’exception de ceux énumérés ci-dessous
  • Épices – Aucun, à l’exception du sel
  • Boissons – Trop d’eau, eau froide, eau glacée, le lait de riz
  • Produits sucrants – Sucre blanc, mélasse, sucre brut, sirop d’érable

Aliments à privilégier

  • Fruits – Pomme, canneberge, grenade, pamplemousse, citron, lime, papaye, ananas
  • Légumes – Tous, de préférence vapeur ou cuit (mais jamais cru) sauf ceux listés
  • Glucides – Riz brun à grain long, quinoa, amarante, granola, millet, sarrasin, orge, mas, céréales soufflés
  • Légumineuses – Tous sauf, arachides et lentilles
  • Noix & graines – Lin, tournesol, citrouille
  • Produits laitiers – Petite quantité de lait de chèvre biologique de temps à autre
  • Viandes – Il est préférable de ne pas en consommer, si occasionnel, opter pour du biologique ou élevée en liberté (poitrine de poulet ou de dinde).
  • Huiles – Éviter, sauf moutarde, tournesol, carthame, maïs
  • Épices – Toutes, sauf le sel
  • Boisson – Eau tiède avec citron ou lime pressé, tisane, thé vert, café (occasionnel)
  • Produits sucrants – Miel non-pasteurisé âgé est utile pour alléger la congestion

Habitudes de vie
Comme la nature de Kapha est froide, lourde et terne, il est important de mettre l’accent sur l’action, l’énergie et le stimulant. En particulier, lorsque Kapha est aggravé il y a tendance à la paresse, à la léthargie, le découragement, repli sur soi et la dépression. Miser sur des activités comme l’aérobie, est fortement encouragé pour briser la stagnation de Kapha. Le travail et le plaisir doivent être stimulants et variés, avec déplacements et excitation. La maison et le l’espace de travail devraient être aéré, tempéré, sec et dynamique. L’exposition aux rayons du soleil et la brise chaude est encouragée.

Habitudes de vie à éviter

  • L’inactivité, la paresse
  • Dormir plus de six heures par nuit, dormir jusqu’à tard dans la matinée
  • Exposition au froid et à l’humidité

Aromathérapie
L’huile pour Kapha devrait être réchauffante et stimulante en nature. Les odeurs balsamiques, âcres et musquées sont suggérées pour Kapha comme le cèdre, le pin, le romarin, le basilic, l’encens, la myrrhe, l’eucalyptus, le cajeput, le camphre, le gingembre et le clou de girofle.

Couleurs
Les couleurs qui ont une énergie de réchauffement de la planète comme le jaune, orange, or ou rouge sont utiles pour Kapha, tout comme le marron, le gris et le noir avec modération.

Postures de yoga
Des asanas stimulants et tonifiants, principalement debout et le déplacement des postures suryanamaskar (salutation au soleil), les postures inversées shirshasana (posture sur la tête), pranayama (contrôler la respiration, accent sur la prédominance de la narine droite) est appropriée, ainsi que bhastrika (respiration du soufflet). Les mantras comme Aim, Hreem, Hum ou Om sont aussi utiles.

Méditation
La méditation permet de stabiliser le mental pour évacuer les tensions négatives et se recentrer. L’approche la plus efficace se caractérise par la Bhakti et Karma yoga, qui encourage la pratique spirituelle et l’aide humanitaire.

Neelam Toprani est la fondatrice, présidente et créatrice de la gamme de produits Ayurvédiques Sewanti. La compagnie est située à Vancouver. Par ses nombreux voyages en Inde, cours et ateliers, Neelam a entrepris de faire connaître l’Ayurvéda en Amérique du Nord. Au sein de son équipe, on retrouve des médecins ayurvédiques d’expérience et des chercheurs professionnels.