Holizen

Ayurveda and Back to school

An Ayurvedic perspective

Ayurveda and Back to school

Over the summer, most families have been enjoying vacation and outdoors activities with late night fun in a relaxation mode. With the end of summer approaching in early September also brings the dawn of a new school year. While back-to-school season may signal excitement over new classrooms and a fresh wardrobe for most kids, for many parents it means stress around shopping budgets, a change in schedules and managing homework after a stressful day at work.

New situations can be nerve-wracking for young people too and the start of the school year will be filled with them !Over the next few weeks, children and young people will be expected to settle in with new teachers, new classes, perhaps even new groups of friends. Parents could be overwhelmed by the pressure that comes from dealing with children’s needs, as well as the daily work and household responsibilities.

The ancient science of Life Ayurveda provides solutions for every challenge in our lives. Ayurvedic guidelines offers us mental resilience against stress by choosing rights foods and herbs and adopting daily regiments like Ayurvedic massage with therapeutic oils.

Top 5 Tips for children and parents for the new school year.

1. Food
According to Ayurveda pure foods help to absorb intelligence required for the young minds. Ayurveda suggests a meals that include freshly prepared breakfasts like oatmeal with almond milk and lunches made with whole grains and fresh vegetables, beans, nuts, seeds and fruits to provide nutrition and nourish their mind and body.

Research indicates that eating a healthy breakfast positively affects cognitive function and academic performance in children. Most learning problems are caused by eating food that is lacking in intelligence such as food laced with chemicals, junk foods and frozen foods. Children are naturally more sensitive than adults. Harmful food additives and chemical preservatives BHT and BHA and additives like calcium silicate, food coloring, artificial flavors are found in most prepared breakfast packaged foods like cereals and frozen waffles.

2. Mental function and intelligence with Herbs
Children are extremely capable of coping with change in a new school year and parents can help them in the process by providing a setting that fosters resilience and encourages them to share and express their feelings about returning to school. To enhance learning and mental faculty development in students of any age, Ayurveda suggests intelligent foods and herbs. Nutritional deficiency could result in diminished memory and lack of sleep. Diet is the primary focus for enhancing mental ability supplemented by herbal compounds that have been used in Ayurvedic medicine for thousands of years. Mental rejuvenative herbs or Medhya Rasayanas are used in Ayurveda for addressing imbalances in memory and attention. These herbs provide powerful nourishment to the mind.


Brahmi also referred to as Bacopa monnieri, Herpestis monniera, water hyssop, and “Brahmi,” has been used in the Ayurvedic system of medicine for centuries. Traditionally, it was used as a brain tonic to enhance memory development, learning, and concentration and to provide relief to patients with anxiety or epileptic disorders. Recent research has focused primarily on Bacopa‘s cognitive-enhancing effects, specifically memory, learning, and concentration, and results support the traditional Ayurvedic claims. Other notable mental rejuvenating herbs are Sankhapushpi, Jatamansi and Rudraksh.

Brahmi oil is traditionally used to nourish the head, brain and nervous system. Used on a daily basis, its helps to awaken the divine within, to promote a healthy, balanced and positive mental outlook. Brahmi Taila is traditionally used to promote learning, memory and concentration, and can be used safely in both the children and elderly.

3. Manage Stress and promote restful Sleep
Using these herbs as a base Sewanti has created herbal formula Stressnil to calm the mind in a stressful situation and enhance problem solving ability, retention of knowledge and recall of the knowledge when needed. Stressnil is an ideal herbal formula for all who use their mind on the job or school. Stressnil formula contains 35:1 extract of 6 mental rejuvenation herbs to improve brain function and promote restful sleep. Stressnil helps to alleviate anxiety depression and insomnia. Combined with healthy diet, regular exercise, and lifestyle measures such as meditation, Sewanti’s Stressnil helps to promote mental and emotional wellness

4. Ayurvedic Massage
Baby balance oil is a gentle massage oil for children as well as adults. Parents could give a simple body massage before bedtime or on weekends as a part of routine to bond with their children. Regular massage with Baby Balance oil brings calmness and emotional satisfaction. It helps to improve complexion, nourishes tissues, tones muscles and protects skin against infection.

5. Meditation
Meditation can wipe away the day’s stress and brings inner peace. Taking few minutes to meditate in the morning and before bedtime can restore peace and relaxation.
There are many types of meditations. One could choose any simple technique to meditate like a Guided meditation or Mantra meditation or a Mindfulness meditation. Traditional Chinese medicine suggests Qi Gong and Tai Chi while Ayurveda suggests yogic methods of Asana, Pranayama and Dhyana. Mental performance can be expanded to its full potential with proper nutrition, quality sleep and balanced wisdom of the herbs that can help nourish the mind in a safe natural way.


Neelam’s brings her knowledge of rich grooming tradition from India and energetic aspects of various healing modalities in her teaching. Neelam Toprani is an Ayurvedic researcher and the formulator of Sewanti herbal remedies and Padmashri massage oils.

All the information on our products and their components is for general information only and was made with the best of our knowldege. It does not claim in any way of suggesting a diagnosis or a treatment.

Holizen

Point de vue ayurvédique

Retour en classe

Septembre annonce l’excitation du retour en classe mais aussi une période de stress après avoir profité de plusieurs moments de détente, des vacances et du plein air en famille cet été. Au cours des prochaines semaines, vos petits devront s’adapter à de nouveaux enseignants, à une nouvelle classe et à de nouveaux amis. Ces nouvelles situations peuvent être angoissantes pour plusieurs enfants.

Pour les parents, il y a le stress du budget pour les achats de vêtements, de livres scolaires, un changement dans les horaires et la gestion des devoirs après une journée mouvementée au travail en plus des tâches ménagères au quotidien. L’Ayurvéda propose des solutions pour surmonter ces défis du quotidien. Contre le stress du quotidien, puisons dans les principes ayurvédique, en choisissant de bons aliments et plantes, en adoptant au quotidien certains rituels bien-être comme le massage aux huiles thérapeutiques.

5 conseils pour la rentrée scolaire

1. Alimentation
Selon l’Ayurvéda les aliments sains aident à absorber l’intelligence requise pour les jeunes esprits. L’Ayurvéda suggère des petits déjeuners cuisinés maison, comprenant des flocons d’avoine et du lait d’amandes, des diners composés de grains entiers, de légumes frais, d’haricots, de noix, de graines et de fruits pour l’apport en nutriments et aussi pour nourrir le corps et l’esprit. Les recherches ont démontrés qu’un petit déjeuner sain et équilibré affecte positivement les fonctions cognitives et le rendement scolaire chez les enfants.

La plupart des problèmes de santé et d’apprentissage peuvent être causés par l’ingestion d’aliments pauvres en nutriments, tel que les additifs, la malbouffe et certains aliments congelés. Les enfants sont naturellement plus sensibles que les adultes. Ces additifs alimentaires dangereux, les conservateurs chimiques BHT et BHA et certains additifs comme le silicate de calcium, les colorants et saveurs artificiels, se retrouvent dans certains petits déjeuners préparés et préemballés, comme les céréales et les gaufres surgelées.

2. Fonction mentale & plantes
En cette nouvelle année scolaire, les enfants ont la capacité de faire face aux changements et les parents peuvent les aider dans ce processus en fournissant un cadre qui favorise la résilience, en les encourageant à partager et exprimer leurs sentiments sur leur retour à l’école. Les carences nutritionnelles peuvent affecter la mémoire et causer un manque de sommeil. Pour accroître le développement et l’apprentissage chez les élèves de tout âge, l’Ayurvéda suggère des plantes et des aliments adaptés. Pour accroitre la capacité mentale, misez sur une alimentation saine, puis complétez avec des suppléments de plantes, utilisés en médecine ayurvédique depuis des milliers d’années.

Optez pour des plantes rajeunissantes, dites ‘medhya rasayana’, des plantes qui favorisent un esprit brillant et un intellect éveillé. Utilisées en médecine ayurvédique pour traiter les déséquilibres de la mémoire et de l’attention, ces plantes nourrissent l’esprit. Le Brahmi (Bacopa monnieri, Herpestis monniera), une hysope d’eau est utilisée en médecine ayurvédique depuis des siècles comme tonique du cerveau pour améliorer la concentration, l’apprentissage et le développement de la mémoire et pour venir en aide aux patients souffrant de troubles d’anxiété ou crise d’épilepsie.

Des récentes recherches sur le Bacopa ont démontrés ses effets sur l’amélioration du cognitif, plus précisément les effets sur la mémoire, l’apprentissage, et la concentration. Les résultats confirment les revendications de la médecine ayurvédique traditionnelle. Le Sankhapushpi, le Jatamansi et le Rudraksh sont aussi dites ‘medhya rasayana’, et favorisent aussi l’intellect.

En Inde on le prépare ainsi; Une cuillère à thé de poudre de Brahmi est ajoutée à un verre de lait chaud avec une pincée de cardamome, 2 gouttes de ghee et du miel au gout.

Traditionnellement utilisée pour nourrir la tête, le cerveau et le système nerveux, l’huile Brahmi Taila favorise l’apprentissage, la mémoire et la concentration. Peut être utilisé autant par les enfants que par les personnes âgées.

Utiliser en automassage au quotidien, Brahmi taila aide à éveiller l’esprit pour favoriser un meilleur équilibre mental ainsi qu’une attitude positive.

3. Gérer le stress & sommeil
En utilisant ces plantes comme base, Sewanti a créé la formule Stressnil pour calmer l’esprit en situation de stress et améliorer la capacité à faire faces aux problématiques et à conserver sa concentration. Composé de 6 plantes en extrait 35 :1, Stressnil améliore le fonctionnement du cerveau et favorise un sommeil réparateur. Il aide à soulager l’insomnie, l’anxiété et la dépression légère. Combiné à une alimentation saine, de l’exercice régulier et la pratique de la méditation, Stressnil contribue à promouvoir un bien-être mental et émotionnel.

4. Massage Ayurvédique
L’huile Bébé balance est une huile douce de massage autant pour les enfants que les adultes. Un massage simple avant le coucher ou lors du week-end dans le cadre de la routine du soir, renforce le lien avec l’enfant. Elle procure calme et bien-être émotionnel. Il contribue à améliorer le teint, nourrir les tissus et les muscles et protège la peau contre certaines infections.

5. Méditation
La méditation diminue le stress de la journée et apporte une paix intérieure. Prendre quelques minutes pour méditer le matin et avant le coucher peut rétablir l’équilibre et apporter la détente. Il existe de nombreux types de méditation. Choisir une technique simple, comme une méditation guidée, méditation Mantra ou une méditation de pleine conscience. La médecine traditionnelle chinoise suggère le Qi Gong et Tai Chi, tandis que l’Ayurvéda suggère des techniques de yoga comme Asana, Pranayama et Dhyana.

Les capacités mentales peuvent s’accroitre à leur plein potentiel par une bonne nutrition, un sommeil de qualité et équilibré, par le choix des plantes qui aident à nourrir l’esprit de façon naturelle et sans danger.

Neelam Toprani est la fondatrice, présidente et créatrice de la gamme de produits Ayurvédiques Sewanti. La compagnie est située à Vancouver. Par ses nombreux voyages en Inde, cours et ateliers, Neelam a entrepris de faire connaître l’Ayurvéda en Amérique du Nord.

Au sein de son équipe, on retrouve des médecins ayurvédiques d’expérience et des chercheurs professionnels.

Ces renseignements sur nos produits et leurs composantes le sont à titre d’informations générales seulement et leur préparation a été faite au meilleur de nos connaissances. Il ne prétend d’aucune façon suggérer un diagnostic ou un traitement.