Holizen

Ayurvedic approach to Joint disease

Self-Care

Ayurvedic approach to Joint disease

Joint disorders affect about 80% of the older individuals in North America however the symptoms are worse in the colder weather. The causative factors of joint pains may be due to obesity, improper use of joints, overuse of the joints, sports injury, stress or diet. Most commonly affected joints are knees, ankles, elbows, wrists, fingers and toes.

Ayurveda identifies two major types of joint problems. One type is due to poorly nourished, dry joints with decreased synovial fluid to facilitate the movement of the bones and ligaments. As we age the Vata dosha becomes prominent and common symptoms are popping and cracking, muscle tics and spasms.

Another type of joint diseases is due to the accumulation of toxins built up in the joint due to poor digestion. The initial symptoms are joint congestion and swelling. If left untreated, it leads to inflammation, burning sensations and pain. As the condition progresses, the chronic inflammation leads to the degeneration of the joint itself.

Ayurveda offers simple guidelines and herbal remedies for supporting healthy function of the joints.

  • Maintain a regular schedule, sleeping and waking at the same time each day.
  • Daily perform self-massage with Nourishing Vata massage oil or Dhanvantara oil to liquefy the impurities in the tissues and reduce degradation of bones.
  • Massage medicinal Mahanarayana oil locally into sore, stiff joints to strengthen the joints and improve circulation around the joints.
  • Favour warm nourishing easy to digest meals. Include ghee or flax seed oil in to the diet along with turmeric and Trikatu a digestive formula of ginger, black pepper and long pepper to re-kindle digestive fire and burn the toxins.
  • Avoid white sugar, alcohol, processed food, dairy specially cheese and yogurt.
  • Guggul is considered muscle relaxant, anti-inflammatory and penetrating herb to remove the toxins within the joints. Ayurvedic formulation like Joint flex could be used effectively.
  • Immune boosting herbs like guduchi and ginger helps to reduce the inflammation and pain.
  • Keep the colon clean with regular bowel movements. Use Haritaki twice daily after meals as colon cleanser.
  • Practice gentle yoga and meditation daily.

Enjoy these Ayurvedic tips to restore your bones and joints even if you feel a little stiffness or heaviness in your joints.


Neelam Toprani is an Ayurvedic researcher and the formulator of Sewanti herbal remedies and Padmashri massage oils. She has been studying various healing modalities and eastern spiritualties from many masters.

One of the objectives her Company is to take the timeless wisdom of Ayurveda and translate it into practical solutions to improve the quality of life.

All the information on our products and their components is for general information only and was made with the best of our knowldege. It does not claim in any way of suggesting a diagnosis or a treatment.

Holizen

Prenez soin de vos articulations

grâce à l'Ayurvéda!

En Amérique du Nord, environ 80% des personnes âgées souffrent de douleurs articulaires, dont les symptômes s’aggravent lorsqu’il fait très froid. Celles-ci peuvent avoir une multitude de causes, par exemple l’obésité, l’usure, les blessures sportives, le stress et l’alimentation. Les genoux, les chevilles, les coudes, les poignets, les doigts et les orteils sont les articulations les plus souvent affectées.

En ayurvéda, il existe deux catégories de douleurs articulaires. La première est causée par une baisse de production du liquide synovial, un lubrifiant qui protège les os et facilite les mouvements. Avec l’âge, le dosha Vata devient proéminent et certains symptômes deviennent plus fréquents, par exemple le craquement des articulations et les spasmes musculaires.

La deuxième catégorie de douleurs musculaires est le résultat d’une mauvaise digestion, ce qui entraine une accumulation de toxines dans l’articulation. Celle-ci enfle et, si non traitée, peut devenir enflammée, douloureuse et causer une sensation de brûlure. Avec le temps, l’inflammation chronique peut mener à la dégénérescence articulaire.

Puisez dans la médecine ayurvédique pour des conseils et des remèdes à base de plantes pour préserver le bon fonctionnement des articulations.

  • Établir un horaire de sommeil régulier.
  • Pratiquer l’auto-massage avec l’huile nourrissante de massage Vata ou l’huile de Dhanvantara pour liquéfier les impuretés dans les tissus et réduire la dégénérescence des os.
  • Masser les articulations raides et douloureuses avec l’huile médicinale de Mahanarayana pour aider à les renforcer et améliorer la circulation.
  • Favoriser les repas chauds, nourrissants et faciles à digérer. Ajouter du ghee ou de l’huile de lin à l’alimentation avec le curcuma et le Trikatu, un mélange digestif de gingembre, de poivre noir et de poivre long pour raviver le feu digestif et se défaire des toxines.
  • Éviter le sucre blanc, l’alcool, les aliments transformés et les produits laitiers, particulièrement le fromage.
  • Le guggul est une plante qui agit comme un relaxant musculaire et un anti-inflammatoire en pénétrant les articulations pour éliminer les toxines. Une formule ayurvédique comme Joint Flex pourrait être utilisée efficacement.
  • Certaines plantes comme le guduchi et le gingembre peuvent aider à renforcer le système immunitaire et à réduire l’inflammation et la douleur.
  • Garder le côlon propre en favorisant une évacuation intestinale régulière. Utiliser Haritaki deux fois par jour après les repas.
  • Pratiquer le yoga et la méditation chaque jour.

Profitez de ces conseils ayurvédiques pour aider à rétablir vos os et articulations, même si vous ne ressentez qu’un peu de raideur ou de lourdeur dans ceux-ci.

Neelam Toprani est fondatrice, praticienne en Ayurvéda, présidente et créatrice de la gamme de produits ayurvédiques Sewanti. Par ses nombreux voyages en Inde, cours et ateliers, Neelam a entrepris de faire connaître l’Ayurvéda en Amérique du Nord. Au sein de son équipe, on retrouve des médecins ayurvédiques d’expérience et des chercheurs professionnels.

Ces renseignements le sont à titre d’informations générales seulement et leur préparation a été faite au meilleur de nos connaissances. Il ne prétend d’aucune façon suggérer un diagnostic ou un traitement.