Holizen

An Ayurvedic Approach to Seasonal Allergies

Springs is here!

An Ayurvedic Approach to Seasonal Allergies

Allergy is a hyperactive response of the immune system to specific allergens. Seasonal allergies can occur anytime but they occur most often during spring and early summer when plants and trees are flowering and producing pollens. These dramatic changes in the environment challenge the immune system. Researchers and doctors are still unclear why only some of the population is affected by allergens such as dust, pollen and mold while others are not. Common recommendations are to avoid the allergens that cause the symptoms and to prescribe various antihistamines to stop the symptoms.

According to the Ayurvedic perspective, seasonal allergies are an excess of Kapha dosha when there are heavier, earthy, watery energies predominant in nature. Sedentary lifestyle and the heavier foods of winter could bring Kapha disorders in the spring season like coughing, colds, allergies, sluggishness in mind and body and weight gain. The impurities within the body start to liquefy toxins, flooding the micro-channels of the body making one feel sluggish and toxic.

The long term solution to eliminate allergic reactions is to improve immunity and work toward stronger digestion. Here are some of the ways to restore immunity and fight allergens:

Diet
Avoid eating heavy, indigestible foods, oily or fried foods, red meat and dairy. Stay away from leftovers, and packaged, canned, frozen or processed foods of any kind. These are difficult to digest and include chemicals or preservatives that tax the liver and cause creation of reactive impurities. Eat a diet of light, wholesome, organic fresh vegetables and fruits, lentils and whole grains, suited to one’s dosha.

Ayurvedic herbs and spices like Amla, Andrographis, Holy Basil, Turmeric, Ginger, garlic and black pepper help to reduce Kapha and Vata, building digestive fire and improving immunity.

Herbal Support
The herbal formulation designed for all types of allergens is Holy Basil Plus, a synergetic combination of Holy Basil, Ashwagandha, Amla and Turmeric. This is an effective panacea for coughs due to allergic bronchitis, sinus and respiratory congestion. Holy Basil Plus cleanses the blood and improves respiratory function.

  • Holy Basil (Ocimum sanctum) is traditionally used to cleanse the body of accumulated toxins and promote immunity, supporting strength and stamina.
  • Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) is a popular Indian herb traditionally used to reduce pain, boost energy and enhance fertility. It is an adaptogenic herb that helps to reduce the negative effects of daily stress
  • Amla (Phyllanthus emblica) is traditionally used to enhance immunity, rejuvenate the mind and body reducing symptoms of heat and inflammation. It is a rich source of Vitamin C and beneficial for vision, liver health and complexion.
  • Turmeric (Curcuma longa) is a culinary herb safe as a food spice. It is traditionally used in the treatment of digestive disorders, liver/gall bladder disorders, edema, inflammatory joint diseases and cardiovascular disease.

Massage oils
Among the most profound and effective healing modalities in Ayurveda is the application of therapeutic oils called Abhayanga or daily self-massage. Such massage helps to remove the accumulated stress and toxins in the mind and body, increase circulation to the nerve endings and promote increased stamina through-out the day. It increases mental alertness and tones muscles and lubricates the joints.

During allergy season a daily self-care massage with Invigorating Kapha oil improves circulation, removes fatigue, lethargy, mental fogginess and boosts energy.

Sinus inflammation could be easily reduced by Anu Tailam which is a classical formula described in the Ashtanga Hrdaya, traditionally used to treat problems of the sinuses, nasal passages, head, throat and shoulders. It used in a unique method of administration called nasya, in which the oil is instilled into the nose, in both preventative and therapeutic regimens. Anu tailam helps to purify toxins in the nose and sinuses, and regulates and restores the flow of prana, the vital bio-energy of the body.


In conclusion, Ayurvedic herbal remedies, massage oils and Nasya drops (nose drops) like Anu Tailam are effective in managing and treating different types of allergies without the side effects of modern, over the counter drugs.

Neelam’s brings her knowledge of rich grooming tradition from India and energetic aspects of various healing modalities in her teaching. Neelam Toprani is an Ayurvedic researcher and the formulator of Sewanti herbal remedies and Padmashri massage oils.

All the information on our products and their components is for general information only and was made with the best of our knowldege. It does not claim in any way of suggesting a diagnosis or a treatment.

Holizen

Ayurvéda & allergies

Recommandations saisonières

L’allergie est une réponse hyperactive du système immunitaire à des allergènes spécifiques. Les allergies saisonnières peuvent survenir n’importe quand, mais se produisent le plus souvent au printemps et en début d’été lorsque les plantes et les arbres sont en floraisons et produisent des pollens. Ces changements dans l’environnement font réagir le système immunitaire. Chercheurs et médecins sont encore peu clairs du pourquoi seulement une partie de la population est affectée par les allergènes comme la poussière, les pollens et moisissures tandis que d’autres ne le sont pas. Les recommandations fréquentes sont d’éviter les allergènes qui provoquent les symptômes et à prescrire des antihistaminiques pour les arrêter.

Selon l’ayurvéda, les allergies saisonnières sont un excès du dosha Kapha lorsque dans la nature les changements du climat passe du chaud au froid ou de l’humide au sec ce qui affectent le système immunitaire. Un mode de vie sédentaire, des repas d’hiver plus copieux pourraient apporter un déséquilibre Kapha le printemps venu tel la toux, des rhumes, des allergies, une lenteur du corps et de l’esprit ainsi qu’un gain de poids. Les impuretés accumulées commencent à liquéfier les toxines, inondant les micro-canaux du corps, faisant ressentir une impression de lourdeur générale.

Une solution à long terme pour éliminer les réactions allergiques, est d’améliorer l’immunité et la digestion. Voici quelques-unes des façons de rétablir le système immunitaire et ainsi lutter contre les allergènes :

Alimentation
Éviter de manger les aliments lourds, indigestes, gras ou frits, de la viande rouge et des produits laitiers. Éloignez-vous des aliments pré-emballés, en conserve, congelés ou transformés. Ils sont difficiles à digérer et comprennent des éléments chimiques ou des agents de conservation qui mettent le foie à l’épreuve et peuvent créer des impuretés ou des réactions. Optez pour des aliments entiers, sains, biologiques, des légumes et des fruits frais, des lentilles et des céréales complètes, adaptés à votre dosha.

Parmi les épices et herbes ayurvédiques, choisissez l’amla, l’andrographis, le basilic sacré, le curcuma, le gingembre, l’ail et le poivre noir pour aider à réduire Kapha et Vata, le feu digestif et améliorer l’immunité.

Plantes
Conçu pour tous types d’allergènes, le Holy Basil Plus est une combinaison synergique de basilic sacré, d’ashwagandha, d’amla et de curcuma pour la toux causée par les bronchites allergiques, les sinus et les congestions respiratoires. Holy Basil plus nettoie le sang et améliore la fonction respiratoire.

  • Le basilic sacré (Ocimum sanctum) est traditionnellement utilisé pour nettoyer le corps des toxines accumulées et pour soutenir le système immunitaire, la vigueur et la résistance.
  • L’ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) est une plante indienne populaire utilisée traditionnellement pour réduire la douleur, stimuler l’énergie et améliorer la fertilité. C’est une plante adaptogène qui aide à réduire les effets négatifs du stress au quotidien.
  • L’amla (Phyllanthus emblica) est traditionnellement utilisé pour renforcer le système immunitaire, rajeunir le corps et l’esprit, réduire les symptômes de chaleur et d’inflammation. Il est riche en vitamine C, bénéfique pour la vision, le teint et la santé du foie.
  • Le curcuma (Curcuma longa) est une épice traditionnellement utilisée dans le traitement des troubles digestifs, de foie/vésicule biliaire, de maladies articulaires inflammatoires et cardiovasculaires.

Huiles de massage
Parmi les méthodes de guérison efficaces de l’Ayurvéda, l’Abhayanga; est l’application quotidiennes d’huiles thérapeutiques en automassages. Cette pratique aide à éliminer le stress accumulé, les toxines du corps. Elle apaise l’esprit, augmente la circulation vers les terminaisons nerveuses et favorise l’augmentation de la résistance au fil des jours. L’automassage accroît l’énergie vitale (le prana), favorise la concentration et lubrifie les articulations.

Au cours de la saison des allergies, utiliser l’huile tonifiante Kapha lors de votre automassage pour améliorer la circulation sanguine, éliminer la fatigue, apaiser le mental et stimuler l’énergie.

L’inflammation des sinus peut facilement être réduite avec l’Anu Tailam, une formule classique, traditionnellement utilisée pour traiter les problèmes de sinus, des canaux nasaux, des maux de tête, de gorge et d’épaules. Une méthode unique d’administration appelée nasya : l’huile est versée dans le nez, en prévention ainsi qu’en traitement. Sa pratique contribue à purifier les toxines dans le nez et les sinus. Il régularise et rétablit la circulation du prana, la bio-énergie vitale du corps.

En conclusion : Les remèdes ayurvédiques, les huiles de massage et les gouttes Nasya (gouttes pour le nez) comme Anu Tailam sont efficaces dans la gestion et le traitement des différents types d’allergies sans les effets secondaires des médicaments.

Neelam Toprani est la fondatrice, présidente et créatrice de la gamme de produits Ayurvédique Sewanti. La compagnie est située à Vancouver. Par ses nombreux voyages en Inde, cours et ateliers, Neelam a entrepris de faire connaître l’Ayurvéda en Amérique du Nord. Au sein de son équipe, on retrouve des médecins ayurvédiques d’expérience et des chercheurs professionnels.

Ces renseignements le sont à titre d’informations générales seulement et leur préparation a été faite au meilleur de nos connaissances. Il ne prétend d’aucune façon suggérer un diagnostic ou un traitement.